top of page

Des Moines Branch Elects New President

Updated: Oct 9, 2021

The Des Moines Branch of the NAACP, the nation’s foremost civil rights association, named Victoria Henderson Weber as the branch President. In this role, Henderson Weber will oversee the mission and vision of the NAACP in support of the Iowa-Nebraska State Area Conference and National agendas.

Henderson Weber has been a member of the Des Moines Branch for a number of years, most recently serving as Secretary and Youth Advisor under outgoing president Kameron Middlebrook. She also serves as State Advisor of the Iowa-Nebraska State Area Conference and has served on the National Youth Works Committee.

“It is a tremendous honor to have been given this opportunity,” said Henderson Weber. “As the local branch continues to build relationships with members and community organizations, I am excited to continue the work of those that came before me. I am fully committed to further advancing the mission and legacy of an organization that has made so many historic strides in my community and in our nation.”

Henderson Weber also said, "My primary focus will be on a new initiative called Des Moines: Live, Work, Thrive. This initiative supports a focus on the nationally implemented game-changers (Economic Sustainability, Education, Health, Public Safety & Criminal Justice, Voting Rights & Political Representation) and what the black citizens must have to thrive in the Des Moines Metro."

Victoria graduated with honors from DeVry University and is a proud alum of HBCU Morris Brown College. She is a historian and genealogist and has served in leadership in multiple fraternal organizations. Victoria continues to hold membership in Daughters of the Imperial Court AEAONMS-PHA and Tawasi Federated Women’s Club. Victoria is the Chapter Director-Elect of the Des Moines New Leaders Council and is a founding member of the National African American Gun Association's Des Moines chapter. However, she is most proud of being mother to her 5-year-old son.

Other officers elected for a two-year term are can be found at:



bottom of page